Currently Reading: Thereby Hangs a Tail

Standard

'Thereby Hangs a Tail' cover

Title & Author: Thereby Hangs a Tail by Spencer Quinn
Genre: Mystery, Suspense
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

The second book of an irresistible series narrated by a loveable and wise dog. In the newest Chet and Bernie mystery, Chet gets a glimpse of the show dog world turned deadly. “We run a detective agency, me and Bernie, called the Little Detective Agency on account of Little being Bernie’s last name. My name’s Chet, pure and simple. Headquarters is our house on Mesquite Road, a nice place with a big tree out front, perfect for napping under, and the whole canyon easily accessible out back, if it just so happens someone left the gate open. And then, up in the canyon — well, say no more.” Continue reading

The Girl on the Train: Book Review

Standard

Disclaimer: This post contains some affiliate links.

'The Girl on the Train' cover art

Title & Author: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Genre: Murder mystery, suspense
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

A compulsively readable, emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller that draws comparisons to Gone Girl, The Silent Wife, or Before I Go to Sleep, this is an electrifying debut embraced by readers across markets and categories.

Continue reading

Currently Reading: Mr. Mercedes

Standard

I recently held a poll for readers of Book Reviews & Haikus to select the book I would read after finishing All The Light We Cannot See [review of that coming Monday]. The winner of the poll was Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King. As a huge King fan, I can’t complain! Plus it’s very different – I would imagine – from ATLWCS.

'Mr. Mercedes' cover art

The synopsis, from Goodreads, is as follows:

Continue reading

Friday Favorites: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Standard

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links.

Title & Author: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Genre: Mystery, Crime Fiction, Thriller
Synopsis (from Amazon):

A spellbinding amalgam of murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue.

It’s about the disappearance forty years ago of Harriet Vanger, a young scion of one of the wealthiest families in Sweden . . . and about her octogenarian uncle, determined to know the truth about what he believes was her murder.

It’s about Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently at the wrong end of a libel case, hired to get to the bottom of Harriet’s disappearance . . . and about Lisbeth Salander, a twenty-four-year-old pierced and tattooed genius hacker possessed of the hard-earned wisdom of someone twice her age—and a terrifying capacity for ruthlessness to go with it—who assists Blomkvist with the investigation. This unlikely team discovers a vein of nearly unfathomable iniquity running through the Vanger family, astonishing corruption in the highest echelons of Swedish industrialism—and an unexpected connection between themselves.

It’s a contagiously exciting, stunningly intelligent novel about society at its most hidden, and about the intimate lives of a brilliantly realized cast of characters, all of them forced to face the darker aspects of their world and of their own lives.

Continue reading

Book Review: Mr. Kiss and Tell (Veronica Mars, #2)

Standard

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links.

Title & Author: Mr. Kiss and Tell (Veronica Mars, #2) by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham
Genre: Mystery, Crime, Movie/TV tie-ins
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

The Neptune Grand has always been the seaside town’s ritziest hotel, despite the shady dealings and high-profile scandals that seem to follow its elite guests. When a woman claims that she was brutally assaulted in one of its rooms and left for dead by a staff member, the owners know that they have a potential powder keg on their hands. They turn to Veronica to disprove—or prove—the woman’s story.

The case is a complicated mix of hard facts, mysterious occurrences, and uncooperative witnesses. The hotel refuses to turn over its reservation list and the victim won’t divulge who she was meeting that night. Add in the facts that the attack happened months ago, the victim’s memory is fuzzy, and there are holes in the hotel’s surveillance system, and Veronica has a convoluted mess on her hands. As she works to fill in the missing pieces, it becomes clear that someone is lying—but who? And why?

Continue reading

Book Review: Big Little Lies

Standard

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links.

Title & Author: Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
Genre: Fiction

A fascinating story told in a highly compelling format, Big Little Lies is a rare breed of book. I’d heard good things about it and was ecstatic when my hold at the library was ready. After I started reading I realized I couldn’t even remember what the plot was supposed to be about. Imagine my delight when I realized it was a fictional tale of murder! [Mysteries and suspense stories are probably my favorite genre.]

Continue reading