Currently Reading: Thereby Hangs a Tail

Standard

'Thereby Hangs a Tail' cover

Title & Author: Thereby Hangs a Tail by Spencer Quinn
Genre: Mystery, Suspense
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

The second book of an irresistible series narrated by a loveable and wise dog. In the newest Chet and Bernie mystery, Chet gets a glimpse of the show dog world turned deadly. “We run a detective agency, me and Bernie, called the Little Detective Agency on account of Little being Bernie’s last name. My name’s Chet, pure and simple. Headquarters is our house on Mesquite Road, a nice place with a big tree out front, perfect for napping under, and the whole canyon easily accessible out back, if it just so happens someone left the gate open. And then, up in the canyon — well, say no more.” Continue reading

The Shadow of the Wind: Review

Standard
'The Shadow of the Wind' by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Title & Author: The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón [translated from original Spanish by Lucia Graves]
Genres: Contemporary Literature, Spanish Literature, Suspense
Format chosen: Kindle e-book
Published: 2001
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled ‘The Shadow of the Wind’, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax’s books in existence. Soon Daniel’s seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets–an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love.

Continue reading

The Girl on the Train: Book Review

Standard

Disclaimer: This post contains some affiliate links.

'The Girl on the Train' cover art

Title & Author: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Genre: Murder mystery, suspense
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

A compulsively readable, emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller that draws comparisons to Gone Girl, The Silent Wife, or Before I Go to Sleep, this is an electrifying debut embraced by readers across markets and categories.

Continue reading

Mr. Mercedes: Book Review

Standard

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links.

Mr. Mercedes cover art

Title & Author: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King
Genre: Fiction, Suspense, Crime
Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In the frigid pre-dawn hours, in a distressed Midwestern city, hundreds of desperate unemployed folks are lined up for a spot at a job fair. Without warning, a lone driver plows through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes, running over the innocent, backing up, and charging again. Eight people are killed; fifteen are wounded. The killer escapes.

In another part of town, months later, a retired cop named Bill Hodges is still haunted by the unsolved crime. When he gets a crazed letter from someone who self-identifies as the “perk” and threatens an even more diabolical attack, Hodges wakes up from his depressed and vacant retirement, hell-bent on preventing another tragedy.

Brady Hartfield lives with his alcoholic mother in the house where he was born. He loved the feel of death under the wheels of the Mercedes, and he wants that rush again.

Only Bill Hodges, with a couple of highly unlikely allies, can apprehend the killer before he strikes again. And they have no time to lose, because Brady’s next mission, if it succeeds, will kill or maim thousands.

Mr. Mercedes is a war between good and evil, from the master of suspense whose insight into the mind of this obsessed, insane killer is chilling and unforgettable.

Continue reading

Currently Reading: The Girl on the Train

Standard

After finishing Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King on Sunday night [look for a review on Thursday], I checked my holds at the library to see if anything was newly available. Lo and behold, The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins became available shortly thereafter! I’d been on the waitlist for about a month so I jumped in right away.

'The Girl on the Train' cover art

The synopsis, from Goodreads, is as follows:

Continue reading

Currently Reading: Mr. Mercedes

Standard

I recently held a poll for readers of Book Reviews & Haikus to select the book I would read after finishing All The Light We Cannot See [review of that coming Monday]. The winner of the poll was Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King. As a huge King fan, I can’t complain! Plus it’s very different – I would imagine – from ATLWCS.

'Mr. Mercedes' cover art

The synopsis, from Goodreads, is as follows:

Continue reading